Past Exhibition

Craft Forms 2008

December 5, 2008 – January 24, 2009

View the Catalog

 This eagerly anticipated exhibition, celebrating its fourteenth year, is dedicated to enhancing the public’s awareness of fine contemporary craft while providing a venue for established and emerging artists to share their creative endeavors.  Craft Forms has earned a rapidly growing reputation as one of the nation’s most recognized contemporary craft exhibitions.  The finest works of ceramics, wood, fiber, metal, glass and mixed medium are featured, supporting the Center’s mission of expanding the public’s awareness of fine contemporary crafts, and significantly benefiting all educational programs for children and adults.  “We are excited to present artists from all over the country and abroad,” said Nancy Campbell, Executive Director.

The juror of Craft Forms 2008 is Michael W. Monroe, Executive Director and Chief Curator of the Bellevue Arts Museum, WA, who has been involved with the craft and design field for more than 40 years.  With more than 700 entries, Monroe selected 108 works from 93 artists from 27 states.  Over $4,000 in prizes will be awarded.  Monroe will present the Juror’s Talk on Saturday, December 6, 2008, at 1:00 p.m.  This lecture is free and open to the public.

Visionary Awards of Excellence

Valerie Jo Coulson, Skylights Cuff Bracelet
Haley Bates, Fidelity III and Fidelity IV
Sunhee Oh, Seating for One
Kate MacDowell, Uprooted
Emily Snedden, Behind
Jennifer McCurdy, Coral Vessel
Michael Radyk, Komako
Nancy Blum. Chapagne Girl Series: Strawberries

All Artists
James Aarons
Karin Abromaitis
Wes Airgood
Anastasia Azure
Jill Baker Gower
Elizabeth Barton
Cat Bates
Haley Bates
Jane Benjamin
Lisa Binkley
Nancy Blum
Allyson Bone
Chris Bowman
Leslie Bowman-Friedlander
Jung Eun Chang
Eun-Seo Choi
Jim Connell
Cynthia Corbin
Valerie Jo Coulson
Angela Cunningham
Venetia Dale
Mark Del Guidice
Darlene Durrwachtler Rushing
Irene Embrey
Paul Eshelman
Brian Ferrell
Kate Furman
Motoko Furuhashi
Jordan Gehman
Seth Gould
Ann Harwell
Michael Hayes
Deanna Hovey
Jane Jennings
Ann Johnston
Young Joo Yoo
Judy Kahle
Ashley Kim
Sooyeon Kim
Sun Kim
Patty Kochaver
Lynda LaRoche
Leslie Lewis
Amy Lipshie
Stephen Litchfield
Julia Lowther
Joan Lurie
Kenneth MacBain
Kate MacDowell
Jean Mandeberg
Jennifer McCurdy
Dorothy McGuinness
Jillian Moore
Joe Muench
Debora Muhl
Tom Muir
Kat Myers
Dominie Nash
Adrienne Neszmelyi
Lorene Nickel
Yoko Noguchi
Mel Northum
Jim Norton
Jean Nunez Donegan
James Obermeier
Sunhee Oh
Vince Palacios
Marcus Papay
Miel-Margarita Paredes
Chulyeon Park
Judith Plotner
Tania Radda
Michael Radyk
Karen Rich Beall
Jon Ryan
Erica Schlueter
Sam Scott
Mark Sfirri
Chuck Sharbaugh
Marjorie Simon
Emily Snedden
Courtney Starrett
Joy Stember
Felicia Szorad
Carol Taylor
Demitra Thomloudis
Patricia Tschettler
Kevin Turner
Jo Van Patten
Clare Verstegen
Mark Whitley
Kimberly Winkle
Elise Winters
E. Douglas Wunder

The Wayne Art Center thanks the major sponsors of Craft Forms 2008: The Bryn Mawr Trust Company, Wyeth Pharmaceuticals, The Little House Shop and Little House Shop Stationers,  Star Printing, The Haverford Trust Company, Complete Financial Outsourcing, Alan McIlvain Company, Car Sense,, Allstate, Susan J. Gerrity Agency, Triton Capital, Jimmy Duffy & Sons, Elegance Café,  Shreiner Tree Care Specialists, Morgan Lewis, Wayne Hotel, Minute Man Press and many other generous patrons and community business sponsors.

Michael Hurwitz, Low Board

Karin Abromatis, Window Bowl

Irene Embrey, Seascape Shells

Top of page: Angela Cunningham, Yellow Nesting Set