Past Exhibition

Craft Forms 2009

December 4, 2009 – January 23, 2010

View the Catalog

Craft Forms 2009, our 15th annual international juried exhibition of contemporary craft opened with a Preview Party on Friday, December 4, 2009 in the Davenport Gallery. This year, in conjunction with Craft Forms 2009, the Wayne Art Center is featuring Reflections in Glass, a juried exhibition of contemporary glass. Designed to enhance the public’s awareness of craft, these exhibitions provide a venue where established and emerging artists alike can exhibit their works. Approximately 5,000 visitors experience these renowned venues every year.

It is our great pleasure that Bruce Pepich, Executive Director and Chief Curator of Collections at the Racine Art Museum in Wisconsin, juried Craft Forms 2009.  Bruce elaborated that “the pieces in this exhibition become the physical record of the dialogue taking place in the contemporary craft world, as represented by the artists who entered.”


Juror’s Awards:
Dona Anderson, Lace,
Caroline J. Bilbo, Dendrophobia Neckpiece
Douglas A. Blechner, Untitled, “Living Stone Series”
Jim D. Connell, Red Sand Blasted Carved Lidded Jar
Aliyah Gol,d Swarm
John L. Jensen, Nuibiru
Danny Kamerath, Morton
Tybre J. Newcomer, A Rich History
Vince Palcios, Frog and Rabbit Series: The Tribute
Noel Palomo-Lovinski, You Need to Say What’s On Your Mind!
Rick Schneider and Nikki Vahle, Working Day to Day
Catherine I. Winkler Rayroud, Women’s Liberation? What Liberation?

Awards of Merit, Presented by the Radnor Hotel:
Ed B. Lee, CHAWAN #4
Xuti, Dragon

Hadi A Abbas
Christine Alaniz
Rick Schneider And Nikki Vahle
Dona Anderson
Hratch Babikian
Jonathan Barnes
Heather Bayless
Caroline J Bilbo
Douglas A Blechner
Klara Borbas
Myrle Borine
Jocelyn L Braxton Armstrong
Barbara A Cade
Jim D Connell
Ronald Cook
Angela Cunningham
Lauren E Davis
Christine J Dentremont
Emily P Felderman
Sheila L Ferri
Tommy Fitzsimmons
Debra Fleury
Delores Fortuna
David W Fraser
Joyce Gelick
Catherine A Gilbertson
Aliyah Gold
Jon Goldberg
Carol P Gouthro
Michelle H Hamilton
Jennifer B Hatfield
Barbara Heinrich
Susan Heller
John L Jensen
Hyeyen Jun
Danny Kamerath
Jim W Keller
Ashley Kim
Barbara E Knuth
Hyejeong Ko
Sarah E Labarre
Loretta Lam
Victoria Lansford
Martina Lantin
Ed B Lee
Minkyu Lee
Clay F Leonard
David Lunin
Phill Mason
Swede Mcbroom
Jennifer C Mccurdy
Nancy Middlebrook
Libby & Jim Mijanovich
Don R Miller
Patricia Mink
Brian Molanphy
Nick Mullins
Dominie Nash
Tybre J Newcomer
Vince Palacios
Noel Palomo-Lovinski
So Young Park
Richard M Parrish
Mary Hallam Pearse
Julia E Pfaff
Vincent Pontillo
Jeremy R Popelka
Joanna L Powell
Seiko A Purdue
Michael Puryear
Tania Radda
Michael Radyk
Jacquelyn Rice And Uosis Juodvalkis
Kelly L Robinson
Michael F Rohde
Dawn M Russell
Rowen Schussheim-Anderson
Mark S Sfirri
Arun Sharma
Jose Sierra
Mary V Smith
Lorin M Taoka
Lisa Tate
R. Thomas Tedrowe
Diana Thomas
Demitra M Thomloudis
Stephanie Trenchard
Joan Ulrich
Myung Urso
Clare Verstegen
Jeff Wallin
Jim Webb
Peggy J Wiedemann
Catherine I Winkler Rayroud
Elise Winters
Douglas E Wunder
Thoryn C Ziemba
Valerie Zimany

This year, Wayne Art Center will be introducing some exciting new events in conjunction with Craft Forms 2009. Please visit to hear the following lecturers and discussions:

December 5, 2009, 1:00 – 3:00 pm CF 2009 Juror’s Talk, Bruce Pepich and Meet the Artists

December 6, 2009, 11:30 am – 3:30 pm Two Craft Collectors Private Tours and Lunch

January 7, 2010, 7:00 – 9:00 pm  Glass Curator’s Lecture, Arlene Silvers

January 16, 2010, 1:00 – 3:00 pm Metal and Fiber Lectures, Hratch Bibikan & Cindy Friedman

January 23, 2010, 4:00 – 5:30 pm Glass Lecture, Christopher Ries

Image: Jim Connell, Red Sandblasted Carved Lidded Jar

Ronald Cookwood

Victoria Lansford

Top of page: Jim Connell, Red Sandblasted Carved Lidded Jar